RSS

TNBT & Free July Desktop

30 Jun

You may remember about a month ago I posted that I was participating in The Next Best Thing contest over at Digital Scrap Ink.  I haven’t been very good at posting about it (or anything for that matter) but I have made it all the way to the Final Round.  Here is a recap of my projects/layouts so far.

Round One
We had to create a layout with the theme of our favorite summer song.  Here is my submission:

Layout for TNBT Round 1.  Theme was favorite summer song, I used Fishing in the Dark.

Layout for TNBT Round 1. Theme was favorite summer song, I used Fishing in the Dark.

Round Two
We had to choose our favorite kit from the Designers that had made it into Round Two.  I had two kits that I loved so I did two different layouts.  The first one is the one that I used for my submission for Round Two.  The kit is called Today’s Vintage and is by Fairytale Studios.

Layout for Round 2 of TNBT. Used the kit Today's Vintage by Fairytale Studios.

Layout for Round 2 of TNBT. Used the kit Today's Vintage by Fairytale Studios.

The second kit that I loved and used is called Lifes a Beach Ball by Inspired by Dominic Designs.  I love Tiffany’s stuff and was so sad to learn that she had to drop out of TNBT Designers contest before the final round.  Here is the layout I created with her kit.

Created using Inspired by Dominic Designs kit Life's A Beach Ball

Created using Inspired by Dominic Designs kit Life's A Beach Ball

I also used the above layout for the Font Challenge over at Bouquet of Pixels.  If you didn’t know it, Bouquet of Pixels has some great challenges each month, so check them out!

Round Three
For this round our challenge was to create a hybrid project and then scrap a layout about it!  So for my hybrid project I created a CD Photo Cube (which I will be posting more about soon!).  It was a fun project.  For my photos, i actually printed out miniature layouts of my children. I plan to give the cube to my mom when we go visit; I am sure she will love it (it involves her grandkids!).  They make great gifts and are pretty simple to make.  Check back soon for my post about it, the instructions and some tips I have.

Round 3: Hybrid Project- CD Photo Cube layout. Kit used is Cuddlebeez About the Man

Round 3: Hybrid Project- CD Photo Cube layout. Kit used is Cuddlebeez About the Man

Round Four
Just began and our challenge was to create a July Desktop using any of the 8 Designer Finalists kits.  This is the first time I have created a desktop and although i was a little intimidated, it was not as hard as I imagined.  Here is a preview of my desktop. I used the kit Retro by Ivonne Ivett.

July Desktop for Round 4 of TNBT. Kit used is Ivonne Ivett's Retro

July Desktop for Round 4 of TNBT. Kit used is Ivonne Ivett's Retro

I created the desktop in three different sizes to accomodate as many people as possible.  The included sizes are 1024×768, 1280×800, and 1440×900.  There are open spaces for your photos, so open up your editing software, add your photos, save and then apply to your desktop! I hope that you enjoy it!  Oh yeah, the photo is linked so just click it to download!

And don’t forget that you can head over to The Next Best Thing- Designer gallery at Digital Scrap Ink and find some great kits and quick pages, if you hurry!

 

One response to “TNBT & Free July Desktop

  1. Julie Griffith

    July 1, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    You have some gorgeous papers! I love the July desktop too!
    Jewels

     

Leave a Reply

 
